New Year, New Means

For those of you who aren’t following me on Twitter, I’ve got some great news to share: I received a favorable decision on my disability case.  I’ll be getting payments in a week or two.

After a decade of abject poverty, I’m looking forward to being a consumer again.  I’ve discovered Amazon’s Wish Lists and populated them with various and sundry delights.  There’s a bit of a struggle to prioritize my needs, but it’s a happy dilemma.  If I can’t afford what I want immediately, I can wait until next month. Or the one after that, or after that.

One of the biggest perks to the situation is that I will be able to resume writing.  I hear J.K. Rowling managed to write the first Harry Potter book on café napkins, but I don’t have it in me.  I need a real computer, a keyboard, printing paper, and ink.

In a week or two I can buy ink.  I’m going to wait on the computer, upgrading my phone comes first, but I can get a micro USB adapter and print the first draft of my novel from my tablet.  A $5 device will facilitate my artistic endeavors, and I can scribble on a physical copy of the book until next month.  So sweet.

There are other benefits, too.  I can get wax and wicks to make candles, I can get twine to make knotwork Rosaries, I can get St. Benedict medals in bulk and a proper pastoral sick call kit.  My ministry will grow.

I can get a car and go to writers’ conferences, or visit family, or go ghost hunting.

I can repay my mother for keeping a roof over my head and my lights running.

I can adopt a cat.

2017 will come with challenges, but I will be better equipped to handle them than I have been in a very long time.  It’s gonna be a great year.

Leave a Reply

